Vegan Date & Cashew Balls

I recently found the Nakd Cashew Cookie Bars, and really liked eating them as an energy boost before or after I go to the gym, however I soon decided that I didn’t want to pay the 90p a bar that I was doing in the shop I found them. When I looked at the ingredients, I realised they only had 2 ingredients – 51% cashews and 49% dates! So I decided to go out and make my own.

Ingredients

  • 210g dates (pitted)
  • 200g cashews (unsalted)
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar

Equipment

  • Food processor

Method

  1. Pit the dates if necessary and roughly chop them.
  2. Empty the cashews into the food processor and blend them until fine. (I used a 200g bag because that was all I could find, but so long as you use slightly more dates than cashews it will work the same.)
  3. Once blended, add the dates and blend again. (Adding the dates separately allows the cashews to blend evenly without getting stuck on the dates.)
  4. Once both ingredients are blended together, see if the mixture will hold as balls. If it won’t, add some agave nectar and blend again. (Honey should work too)
  5. Shape the mixture into balls and store at room temperature.

12498416_1339350122759192_1140383985_n.jpg

Mine turned out more textured than the smooth bar I was inspired by, but I actually need up preferring them this way.

Some other ideas I had for taking the recipe further were coating them in chocolate or adding desiccated coconut into the mixture. If you have any ideas let me know and I might try them next time!

Leave a Reply

