What I ate in a day (vegan)

Hello! Recently I’ve been trying to make some health changes in my diet and am trying veganism temporarily to see if I notice any changes in how I feel. This isn’t a permanent change but I am slowly incorporating the vegan foods into my diet as I get through the food that isn’t to avoid wasting it. I thought I’d take you through my first day of being fully vegan for anyone who’s interested in the diet, but also to show those who think you can only eat boring meals how nice vegan food can be.

For breakfast I had pancakes with plant based spread (which tastes exactly like butter) and maple syrup. I found the recipe for these on Pinterest and you can click here to see it. I have to say these are possibly the best pancakes I’ve ever had in general so they’re well worth giving them a try. The recipe says it makes 8, I don’t know if we made smaller pancakes but we actually managed to make 12 good sized ones. I also had a cup of tea with almond milk.

vegan pancakes with tea
For lunch I had a mixed fruit smoothie with coconut milk and chia seeds. My friends and I thought we’d try and make chia pudding, but when we got too impatient to wait for the milk to thicken we decided to throw in some frozen fruit and make a smoothie. It tasted so good and the chia seeds added extra nutrition to it while making it more filling!

As a snack I made chocolate chip cookies and followed this recipe. I added cocoa powder to my recipe because I prefer everything with extra chocolate, but eating these I could taste the chickpeas. I’m not sure if I did something wrong and possibly used too many, but on the original website these got great feedback so I think it’s might just be me. Even so, with the chocolate chips these are a nice treat.


For dinner I followed this tofu recipe, but served it on giant cous cous that I flavoured with half a vegetable stock cube and added peas, peppers and coriander. I couldn’t believe this was vegan when I was eating it. I barely eat meat anyway so I’m used to meatless meals but for some reason vegan has always seemed a lot more difficult to me. The trick of marinating the tofu with soy sauce made a huge difference for this one.


Throughout the day I drank plain water, lemon water and cranberry juice. So there you have it! I hope this was interesting to those of you who are wondering about a vegan diet, and if anyone has any recipes on their own blogs feel free to leave me a comment with them as I’m always looking for more!

2 comments

  1. This looks great! I always see What I Eat In A Day posts but never pay much attention to them, but this is actually quite inspiring. I am the worst at eating healthily but this looks yummy. 🙂

    Aisling | anthologie.

    Like

    1. Thank you, that means so much to me! I go in and out of being healthy but having the snacks that felt more indulgent than they were definitely helped!

      Cathy xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

