20 Things I’ve Learned by 20

If you have read my recent posts you may know my 20th birthday is coming up… I’m excited for a birthday as always but knowing I’ll be 20 is scarier than anything. Aren’t 20-year-olds meant to have their life together? Anyway, I guess I have some wisdom at least, so here are 20 things I’ve learned through my 20 years on the planet:

 

1. It’s always better to take a chance than not

You don’t know where the day might take you if you say yes to an opportunity. Your day could take you anywhere. It can be scary, but if you always say no to opportunities you know exactly what you’ll be doing every day, and if you’re anything like me there are only so many days you can sit in your room refreshing Instagram before you’ve had enough.

 

2. It’s more harmful to never have fun that to have too much

If you have a business head, you may disagree with me on this one. But when my life is all work and no play I’m not happy, and to me, that isn’t what life’s about.

 

3. You can’t hold on to everyone

You can give it a good go, but in some cases you’ll simply be wasting your time. It’s all trial and error really, and I don’t think there’s any formula you can use to determine whether someone is worth holding on to for life. People are diverse, and some people are just not good for you.

 

4. …But it’s definitely worth trying

Because nobody is perfect. And if you gave up on friends (or even acquaintances for that matter) after they made one mistake then you’d eventually run out of people to befriend, and that would suck.

 

5. Even the most predictable situations can take an unexpected turn

You can be the smartest person who ever lived and the world will still outsmart you. Life is complex, embrace it.

 

6. Following your heart is the only option you ever really have

Well, you can go against it, but it’ll always be in the back of your mind that you know you should have followed your heart. It might be more difficult but it will usually work itself out in time.

 

7. ‘Sorry’ isn’t a dirty word

You’d think it was with how opposed I am to saying it, but I’m learning to know when it’s time to say sorry and it never goes unappreciated.

 

8. You can never appreciate a friend with the same music taste as you enough

Because who else would put up with the same song playing over and over again and still be willing to sing along with it?

 

9. Knowing you stood by your opinion is much more rewarding than being praised for an opinion that isn’t your own

There are 7.125 billion people on the planet (thanks Google), you can’t tell me nobody shares your opinion. I’ve spent a lot of time agreeing with things I didn’t agree with and it lead me down paths I didn’t agree with. I’m not talking about anything bad here, what I mean is if you pretend you’re someone you’re not – you’ll make friend you don’t click with  and spend time doing things you don’t enjoy. Own your personality and you’ll attract things that are meant to be in your life.

 

10. Risks always pay off

Maybe not in the way you’d expect/want them to, but everything goes towards your personal development and it’s always good to have a story up your sleeve.

 

11. Random events will define your life

I grew up thinking I’d go into an academic field. I told myself this, but I was told by everyone else I would, too. I took Media studies at A Level as a creative outlet and in my final year, my teacher told us about an outside film course so I applied because, why not? It’d look good on my CV. I ended up loving it and am currently going into my second year of my Film Production degree.

 

 

12. It’s fine to sing if you can’t sing, and dance if you can’t dance

Everyone’s more bothered about their own image, anyway.

 

13. Late nights are as important as early nights

Once again, it’s all character building. Can you really say you know yourself if you haven’t sat up at 5am wondering how many people have previously drunk the water you last showered with?

 

14. Sometimes memories make things seem a lot more fun than they ever were

I’m not going anywhere with this one, it’s just an observation I’ve made. It’s confusing.

 

15. There will always be someone you can learn from

No matter how long you spend refining a skill or how naturally talented you are at something, there will be someone with a different or more developed take on it. That’s not a bad thing though, at the very least it can show you that you’re headed for big things!

 

16. It’s never too late

This goes for all situations. It’s never too late to contact an old friend, or decide you want to go to a party last minute, or start a project you were meaning to five years ago, or decide you want to go down a different career path, or that you don’t want to stick to one career at all.

 

17. Your gut instinct will be right 9 times out of 10

Speaking from experience, if you know something’s up, it probably is. Trust yourself.

 

18. There will be times when you are in the wrong

Being stubborn, I like to think I’m always right. A lot of the time, I still believe I am, otherwise I wouldn’t be arguing my point. However, it’s good to know when to take a step back and realise that not even you can always win.

 

19. It’s not worth holding a grudge

Putting negativity into something will only end up impacting you. By focussing your time into a grudge, you’re allowing yourself to spend time on something that upsets you, when you could be using it to enjoy life.

 

20. Happiness matters most

I can’t think of anything I’d rather be than happy. If you have happiness, no matter what situation you are in, it doesn’t really matter! I know sometimes happiness is the reslt of circumstances rather than the cause of them, but either way I think it’s the most important thing to have!

 

What’s something you’ve learned through a life experience?

 

– Cathy x

8 comments

  1. Love these kinds of posts Cathy!! I’ve already got mine written and scheduled ready for in a couple of weeks for my 18th!! Agree with so many of these points love this post A LOT!! xx

    Toni

    tonigeorgiaxo.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

    1. Can’t wait to read yours! It’ll be interesting to see it from a perspective of becoming an ‘adult’ – I use quotation marks because I still don’t class myself as one haha! xxx

      Like

  2. The main thing I learnt the year I turned 20 was that 2 bottles of wine, 7 shots of vodka, and 3 shots of whiskey is not a wise amount of alcohol to drink before going clubbing 🙈 Honestly, I loved this post. Each part is so true! Early happy birthday! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

