The Day my Housemate Assaulted Me

Here’s an odd story for you.

So, it’s 2am and I can’t sleep because every time I close my eyes I see my housemate picking up the table I’m sat at and throwing the whole thing in my face. Why? Because that happened earlier this evening.

I know… What?!

It was a pretty good day over all, a productive one. I was actually working on some video editing when my phone started pinging away next to me – my housemate asking me to pay the WiFi bill, literally £4.

As a bit of backstory, he owed me £10 as he used one of my printer cartridges which I by for that price, so I was going to let him get out of debt to me over 2 months and then who cares about the remaining £2. Fair enough, or so I thought.

Don’t get me wrong, there has been tension in our house just with general petty things such as noise and cleaning, but I’m really short on money at the moment so I couldn’t afford to give him money I didn’t owe him to begin with. He didn’t like that though and seemed quite aggressive – as one does on good old Facebook. Although props to him for saying he would ‘let me off’ as long as I paid next month – which I would, naturally, as I would owe him money then.

So that was that.

But it wasn’t.

I’m sitting there in the kitchen still, with my boyfriend, other housemate and her boyfriend, when we hear someone running down the stairs and a big patronising sigh before he bursts through the door and starts screaming at me.

To be honest with you, he was screaming at the fact I had to pay him next month and I was screaming back saying I would, and he just kept repeating that I had to. It made no sense at the time either. I told him four times that we were both agreeing that I’d pay him next month and that he should go back upstairs as we had come to an agreement, but once again, no.

He slammed his fist on the table and shouted at me ‘why are you such a cow?’ – a bit of an anticlimactic insult for the moment if I say so. I think he agreed, because he then took our dining table – where I’m still sitting – and lifts it into the air, throwing it at me. I don’t know what happened but the whole thing fell apart which just meant the panel hit me even harder, but why else would he throw a table at me, really? So I imagine he was proud of that one. It did hurt, but what I was thinking in the moment was ‘this is a rented house, how disrespectful’, and ‘I hope my MacBook  and phone still work’ as they had flown with the table top down to the floor.

My boyfriend jumped up to defend me, as did the others, but I honestly couldn’t move. I was suggested to ring the police, but I felt like I was over reacting. I’ve made an appointment with my universities counsellor to give his name and get her opinion and help.

But it’s 2am and I can’t sleep, so there’s a story of how friendships end and my nightmares apparently begin. I hope the £4 was worth it.

10 comments

  1. Omg, how petty and especially a man assaulting a woman, even while other people were there, shocking! If that was me I’d of got up and knocked him out..

    Wow, hope you were okay afterwards?! X

    Like

    1. I’m at least a foot shorter than him if not more… I’m just glad there’s some sort of evidence if I need it as he actually bent the corner of the table and has scratched my laptop! I’m okay now as he’s left the house, but just couldn’t sleep last night at all xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fuming for you. What kind of person does that over £4 even after you’d come to an agreement. Sounds like he just wanted an argument, was completely unnecessary. Hope you’re alright and not feeling sore and your valuables not damaged x

    Claire ❤ | mylittlememoir.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind comment, and I completely agree with you – unfortunately 2 pairs of headphones, my laptop keyboard and my laptop speakers are broken but I said he will be paying for anything that he broke (ironic considering the subject of the issue) I have evidence and witnesses so I’m sure it’ll be treated appropriately xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

